Defining moments – 2015 in pictures

HAPPY NEW YEAR everyone!!

I spent my last evening of 2015 sipping a glass of bubbly with my other half, watching some (surprisingly decent) TV and reflecting on the year we were about to leave behind (In between settling the girls to sleep… I also crept into bed at 11pm only to be woken at 11.57 – Willow obviously didn’t want me missing the arrival of 2016!) 

Scrolling through my photographs, I couldn’t quite believe how many amazing memories I have crammed into the last 365 days… Here are some of my most memorable moments from last year…

A carefree moment – Radio 1’s big weekend in Norwich. I was chuffed to win a pair of tickets, Hozier and Years & Years were our highlights and I even managed a nap on the grass in front of the main stage while Charlie XCX performed (in my defence I was almost six months pregnant) 🎼

   

A triumphant moment – giving birth to our second beautiful daughter, Willow – and managing to push her out on gas & air alone (no judgement to anyone who does it any other way, it was just something I had my heart set on after a tricky labour first time round) πŸ‘ΆπŸΌπŸŽ‰

 

A proud Mummy moment – three days before I took this next photo the beads and elastic got a firm shove across the table and a grumpy “I can’t do it!” Then, just a couple of days later, she set her mind to it, sat and threaded like a champ and was suitably impressed with her finished necklace 😘

A very scary moment – our eldest daughter, Rose, suffered with a nasty bout of pneumonia in early December and I will never forget the terrifying ambulance ride we took to hospital, or seeing her tiny little body in a huge hospital bed – however, I will also always remember the smile on her face when it returned ❀️

A moment of realisation – as my other half nipped in to work during his paternity leave, it dawned on me that we were alone. Me and both of our children. I’m a mother of two. Eek!! πŸ‘­πŸ˜

 

A moment of madness – An elf named Skylar came to live with us in December – sometimes she fell asleep and forgot to move (oops) but more often than not she got up to mischief, much to Rose’s delight πŸŽ…πŸ½
 

A moment of happiness – my best friend Andrea gave birth to beautiful baby George in December, and I am so thrilled that we will be able to share a large chunk of next year while we’re both on maternity leave πŸ‘ΆπŸΌπŸ’™

A moment of friendship – my best Mummy friend and I are truly blessed that our two oldest children get on so well (most of time) – friends for life I hope, just like their Mamas πŸ‘§πŸΌπŸ‘§πŸΌ

A moment of sadness – my Grandpa is currently in a care home and isn’t doing so well. The last time I visited he was confused and angry, but we plan on keeping him company as much as we can until the time comes when we must say goodbye β€οΈπŸ‘΄πŸΌ
 

 

Joyous moments – every time I see Rose in ‘big sister mode’ my heart swells. Until August she was the centre of my universe, but she has an unwavering and fierce love for her baby sister despite having to share my time and attention now, and I am so delighted she loves our little Willow as much as I do

  
   
A wonderful moment – we ended 2015 with a blustery walk on the beach, as a family of four. Tom and I were exhausted from a terrible night (both girls were up, numerous times), Willow was teething and Rose was getting peckish – but in that moment we were all truly happy.  

    
An emotional moment – my brilliant and brave little sister is current travelling in Australia. We miss her so badly but are so proud of her for being an adventurer. She returns in June and we are already planning a celebration for when she gets home – and when she will meet Willow for the first time. We bought her a locket for Christmas and were able to FaceTime while she opened it, which made us both a bit teary! 😒❀️

  
Moments to look forward to in 2016:

1. Peaceful evenings with my other half – our girls are both in tricky sleep phases at the moment, but I think our very bleary eyes can see a light at the end of the tunnel – and we might even manage to have some stress-free time together in 2016!

2. Willow’s weaning has just got underway (which will help us all to achieve more sleep, all being well!) and I’m beginning to remember how much fun it is:  
3. Aunty Sammy’s return:  

4. New arrivals – my older sister and my lovely sister in law both have babies due this year and I’m so excited to meet their bundles of joy – being an Aunty is such an honour: 

5. Family time – any and all the time I will spend with my nearest and dearest: 

 
I hope you also had some wonderful moments in 2015. Here’s to all the new memories to be made in 2016 xxxx 🍾 
 

Leave a Reply

