The Christmas Crazies

“SERIOUSLY?! It’s not even December yet!!” – Bloody ‘Christmas Crazies’… 
… You know the ones: they have eggnog-induced grins on their faces as soon as November arrives, they sneak glitter into their outfits at every given opportunity (novelty elf earrings, anyone?!), Mariah’s ‘All I want for Xmas’ blares out of their car speakers and they have all of their gifts bought and wrapped by bonfire night – and they publish a Facebook status to brag about how ahead of the game they are. Smug b*stards. 
Well, I’m afraid I’m a bit of a Christmas Crazy myself. I have always loved Christmas as much as the next person. Ok, that’s not true. I love it WAY more than the next person – unless I happen to be standing next to Santa himself, of course. I adore all things Christmassy and always have – and just when I thought my festive joy couldn’t possibly escalate any higher, I had children. This is Rose’s third Christmas and Willow’s first and I CANNOT WAIT to spend this magical time with my extended family again, especially as we now have two gorgeous toddlers and one beautiful baba between us to share it with. 
Seeing Christmas through the eyes of a child is a treat to behold. Experiencing excited little faces as they enthusiastically tear brightly coloured paper and ribbons off a highly-anticipated present, witnessing chocolate being smeared as foil-wrapped delicacies are pulled from the tree (sorry in advance for the state of your sofa AND your tree, Auntie & Uncle B…) and revelling in their wide-eyed stares as they gape at the twinkling lights – this is surely the biggest, best, shiniest, most indulgent Christmas gift anyone could ever receive. 
Children or not, Christmas time brings a special kind of warmth to dark Winter days. It brings families together to enjoy food, drink, laughter and good times – unforgettable memories in the making. There’s far too much doom and gloom in the world, if we can extend contagious Christmas cheer over a couple of months instead of just one then why the hell not?! 
I used to roll my eyes as I drove by houses lit up like the Blackpool illuminations – nowadays I pull over, wind the window down and drink-in the holiday madness. Now please excuse me while I go and rummage in the wardrobe to find my snowman jumper and write the last few Christmas cards… and yes, the gifts are wrapped! (*bragging smiley*) 😊❤️🎄🎅🏽🎁

  

Leave a Reply

